Marriage or Civil Union Certificate

Please note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records.

Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, marriage or civil union certificates. The Ford County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

Only the couple may obtain a certified copy of a Marriage or Civil Union Application.

Requests Made in Person at the Office

  • Only Cash or Check (credit/debit card not accepted)
    The cost is $7.00 for the first certified copy, $2.00 for each additional certified copy of the same Marriage or Civil Union.
  • Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (except for county holidays).
    All transactions must be completed before 4:15 PM.
  • Requests made in the office require a valid Driver’s License, State-issued ID, or a Passport (Authorized English translation must accompany identification that is not U.S. issued).

Requests Made Through Mail

  • All Mail Requests must include a copy of a signature ID. (The extension of the expiration date must be copied if applicable)
    * IL Law (ILCS410/535/25(1)) requires advance payment for the searching of genealogical search of files that occurred 50 years or more ago. This $10.00 search fee is per visit, per Marriage and non-refundable and must be a separate check or money orderThe cost per visit is $7.00 for the first certified copy, $2.00 for each additional certified copy of the same Marriage or Civil Union License. Please make your check payable to Ford County Clerk.

To Obtain A Certified Copy of A Marriage or Civil Union License

Only the couple may obtain a certified copy of a Marriage or Civil Union License.

Requests Made in Person At the Office

  • Only Cash or Check (credit/debit card not accepted)
  • Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (except for county holidays).
  • Requests made in the office require a valid Driver’s License, State-issued ID, or a Passport (Authorized English translation must accompany identification that is not U.S. issued).

Requests Made Through Mail

  • All Mail Requests must include a copy of a signature ID. (The extension of the expiration date must be copied if applicable)