Marriage or Civil Union Certificate

Please note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records.

Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, marriage or civil union certificates. The Ford County Clerk's Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

To obtain a certified copy of a Marriage or Civil Union Application:


Requests made in the Office can be paid by Cash or Check

The cost is $7.00 for the first certified copy, $2.00 for each additional certified copy of the same Marriage or Civil Union.

Requests made through the mail

 

*IL Law (ILCS410/535/25(1)) requires advance payment for the searching of genealogical search of files that occurred 50 years or more ago. This $10.00 search fee is per visit, per Marriage and non-refundable and must be a separate check or money order. The cost per visit is $7.00 for the first certified copy, $2.00 for each additional certified copy of the same Marriage or Civil Union License. Please make your check payable to Ford County Clerk.


  Click here to print the application to request a copy of a marriage record.



 

To obtain a certified copy of a Marriage or Civil Union License:

Requests made in the Office can be paid by Cash or Check


Requests made through the mail

Click here to print the application to request a copy of a civil union record.