To obtain a certified copy of a Death Certificate, you must be one of the following:
Requests made in the Office can be paid by Cash or Check
Requests made through the mail
Effective July 1, 2012, an additional $2.00 will be collected by all local registrars and county clerks for the issuance of certified copies of death and fetal death certificates. This is pursuant to PA 97-0679. The new fee will be forwarded on a monthly basis to the Illinois Department of Public Health and will be deposited into the Cemetery Oversight Licensing and Disciplinary Fund (COLDF) and used by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR).
*IL Law (ILCS410/535/25(1)) requires advance payment for the searching of genealogical search of files that occurred 20 years ago or more. This $10.00 search fee is per visit, per Death to be searched and
non-refundable and must be a separate check or money order. The cost per visit for a genealogical copy is $7.00 for the first copy and $2.00 for each additional.
Effective July 1, 2012, the cost for certified copies of a death certificate in Ford County
per visit will be $11.00 for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional copy of the same Death Certificate.
Please make your check payable to the Ford County Clerk.
Click here to print the application to request a death record.