Please note the following information about Birth Certificates:
- Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth,
death, or marriage certificates. The Ford County Clerk's Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only.
Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
- Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding any Vital Record.
- The earliest Birth Records available in Ford County are from 1878.
- If you were not born in Ford County, please contact either the County of your birth (click on the following link for a county search: http://www.naco.org/cffiles/counties/usamap.cfm)
or contact the State Department of Vital Records at 217-782-6553.
- If the certificate has been on file for 75 years or longer, anyone with a genealogical interest may have a non-certified
copy of the certificate, stamped “for genealogical purposes only”.
Note: Any person who with the intention to deceive, willfully uses or attempts to use any certificate of birth or certified copy of a record of birth knowing that such certificate or certified copy was issued upon a record that is false in whole or in part or that relates to the birth of another person, is guilty of a Class 4 felony in the state of Illinois.
To obtain a certified copy of a Birth Certificate, you must be one of the following:
- Of legal age (18 or an emancipated minor with certified court documentation) if requesting your own.
- The mother or father (if listed on the certificate) of the child whose certificate is being requested.
- A Legal Guardian with certified court documentation proving verification of guardianship.
- An Agent having a Notarized letter from any of the above authorizing your access to the record.
- A Legal Representative, i.e. an attorney acting on behalf of the person named on the Birth Certificate (must have authorized documentation).
- An Agent authorized by power of attorney that specifically states that the record can be obtained.
- An Agent approved by the State Registrar.
Birth Certificates can be requested in person or through the mail. Please read the following for instructions on request guidelines and procedures:
Requests made in the Office can be paid by Cash or Check:
- Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (except for county holidays).
- • All transactions must be completed before 4:15 p.m.
- Requests made in the office require a valid Driver’s License, State-issued ID, or a Passport (Authorized English translation must accompany identification that is not U.S. issued).
- * For a request of a deceased individual, you must also include a copy of the death certificate or obituary, send a copy of your State Issued I.D. and fill out the special form below.
Requests made through the mail:
- All Mail Requests must include a copy of a signature ID.
(The extension of the expiration date must be copied if applicable).
- *For a request of a deceased individual, you must also include a copy of the death certificate or obituary, send a copy of your State Issued I.D. and fill out the special form below.
* IL Law (ILCS410/535/25(1)) requires advance payment for the searching of genealogical search of files that occurred 75 years ago or more. This $10.00 search fee is per visit, per Birth and
non-refundable and must be a separate check or money order. The cost per visit is $7.00 for first copy, $2.00 each additional copy of the same Birth Certificate. Please make your check payable to Ford County Clerk.
Click here to print the application to request a copy of a birth record.
Click here to print the application to request the birth record of a Deceased individual.
Copyright ©2009 Ford County Courthouse